It’s weird how people are effected by situations differently, but as I lay in bed, there is one constant running through my head. Tomorrow is June 26th. Each year, on that day, I will always be reminded to not take anything for granted and to live each day to the fullest!

I remember exactly where I was, what I was doing, and what time it was that the call came in from my doctor, it seems like it was just yesterday. It was shortly after lunch, my doctor had left me a message and as soon as I could I listened. Without even needing to call her back, I remember the feeling of my heart sinking and my head spinning in all different directions. Fear of the unknown took over and I remember thinking to myself, “Am I going to die?” It was hands down, one of the hardest days of my life. I immediately went to the bathroom to try and compose myself because let’s face it, crying at work was the LAST thing I wanted to do. I was doing pretty good until my boss walked in just as I was about to walk out, she saw my red face and puffy eyes that I tried so feverishly to rid myself of…..yep, there was just no holding it together anymore. That was difficult for me because while some people go to work, do their job just to pay the bills, I do not. My Co – workers are like a second family to me and they were so supportive and simply amazing. It’s truly a gift to work with such kind-hearted individuals, they are the ones that got me through the rest of the work day when I didn’t know how I could finish and for that I’m forever thankful. I didn’t know where the diagnosis of cancer would take me from that day forward, but as I write this today, I can say it has made me a stronger person. For once in my life I have taken some time to improve/take care of myself. A year ago, a diagnosis of cancer felt like a death sentence, but not anymore. The experiences, the memories, the uneasiness of each appointment will always remain engraved in my head. And, while I’m sure anxiety will run high again as future tests approach, for now I continue to be grateful for all the wonderful people in my life who have helped me get this far 🙂

